Recent Posts

School Board Notes 4/15/2021
College & Career Academy Guest Speakers
School Board Notes 2/18/2021
School Board Notes 1/21/2021
School Board Notes 1/14/2021
School Board Notes 12/17/2021

Hatchet Headlines

School Board Notes 4/15/2021

School Board Notes April 15, 2021

Information Report: 

Assistant Superintendent Kevin Frank presented information on Washington Community Schools Project Based Learning Initiative. PBL connects the standards to real world problem solving, making learning more relevant for students. Project based learning develops 21st century skills such as problem solving, collaboration, critical thinking, creativity, and the communication skills students need to be successful. 

Project Lead The Way Computer Science teacher Matt Riney presented to the board information regarding his collaboration with scientists at NSWC Crane. All this week representatives from the Trusted Microelectronics Division at NSWC Crane will be at Washington HS to help lead our Computer Science classes in authentic projects customized for our students at Washington HS. 

On Monday, these individuals talked to students about their experience in the workplace along with their educational background to ALL of our HS students who may be interested in pursuing a career in STEM.  


The panel consists of the following individuals:

 Dr. Adam Duncan

Electrical Engineer

Trusted Microelectronics Division

(PhD is in Computer Engineering)


Dr. Stephen Howell

Lead Scientist

Trusted Microelectronics Division

(PhD is in Physics, Nanoscience Specialization) 


Angela Mann

Engagement and Strategy Lead

Trusted Microelectronics Division


 Dr. Austin Roach


Trusted Microelectronics Division

(PhD is in Plasma Physics)




  •   Lisa Bouchie - HS Counseling Secretary (position change)

  •   Amanda McMillian - HS FACS Teacher

  •   Kelli Grissom - Bus Driver

  •   Austin Fox, Derek Rhoads, Dirk Rhoads, Eric Long - Baseball  Volunteer Coaches

  •   Pete Parsons - Boys Golf Volunteer Coach

  •   Makayla Kemmis - Softball JH Volunteer Coach

  •   Jeff Owens - Boys Track Volunteer Coach



New Business:


  •  Dance Camp Trip Request- Charleston, IL June 15-18, 2021

  •  Boys Golf Overnight Trip Request - Kokomo, IN April 30-May 1, 2021

  • The Board accepted the recommendation of Sodexo as the food service vendor for the next five years.  

  • The Board approved the textbook adoption for the secondary level Sports Management class to be taught at WHS and the elementary, K-5 social studies program.

  • The Golden Pride Marching Band Indoor Percussion was awarded 3rd place in the state and will be awarded their medals this week. 

  • Hatchet Robotics at WHS is competing in the FIRST Robotics competition and won 6th place in the Accuracy Skill in their division of 30 teams from countries around the world.

  • Congratulations to the Lena Dunn Math Bowl team who placed 2nd in the state. The Math Bowl teams will meet with the school board virtually sometime in the future. 

  • Mr. Frank reported that Washington Community Schools IREAD scores were the highest they have been in the last 6 years, and the board commends the third grade teachers and students in our district for their hard work and dedication despite the challenges of the pandemic. 


Upcoming Meetings

Next regular meeting May 20, 2021, 7:00 pm, Central Office


computer science students working


College & Career Academy Guest Speakers

The College & Career Academy at WHS would like to thank Jeremy Wagler and Michelle Ellis for coming in to speak with our junior and senior students on March 30, 2021.

Jeremy is the owner/operator of Wagler Competition Products and Wagler Motorsports Park. He told the students about how he came to be the owner of the two businesses and the connections he has made world-wide. Through his businesses, he has met and worked with several famous people such as Street Outlaws Farmtruck and Azn. He has also worked with other Discovery Channel personalities.

Michelle is the contact person for Turning Point Education Center (Open Arms). At the Education Center, students 18 and older can earn a certification in welding, CNC, CDL, C.N.A., or teaching assistant. The classes are free and are offered at different times of the day throughout the year. Students may pick up a brochure in the Guidance Office. 

"This is exactly the type of local opportunities our students need to be exposed to", says WHS Principal Steve Peterson. Peterson goes on to say, "Kids need to see there are multiple paths to success, and when you don't see something that fits, forge a new one". 

If you are a local business owner/operator/manager, and you would be willing to share your journey with our students, please contact WHS Principal Steve Peterson (812) 254-3860.


CCA guest speaker 3-2021



School Board Notes 2/18/2021

School Board Notes

February 18, 2021



Retirements:      Suzan Zipperle - HS Social Studies (end of school year)


Resignations:     Anthony Spinner- JH Boys Head Track Coach

  Lori Hancock - HS Head Girls Tennis

  Brian Hancock - HS Assistant Girls Tennis


Appointments:   Brian Hancock - HS Head Girls Tennis & JS Girls Tennis

  Lori Hancock - HS Assistant Girls Tennis

  Linda Taylor - Elementary Volleyball ( Veale)

  Kevin Godfrey - JH Assistant Girls Track

  Trey Miller - HS Boys Golf


New Business

The Board approved the Superintendent’s recommendation to advertise the RFP for the district’s food service contract as required every five years.


Information Items

Assistant Superintendent Kevin Frank and Lena Dunn Elementary Principal Jeanette Lobeck presented information to the board concerning the potential expansion of the Lena Dunn Preschool. 





Upcoming Meetings

  • Executive Session, 8:30 am, February 19, 2021.

  • Building visits: 9:00 am, February 26, 2021.

  • Next regular board meeting, 7:00 pm, March 18, 2021, at the Washington High School Cafeteria.