Skip To Main Content

School Board Notes 1/14/2021

  • Board Briefs
Tori Peterson


School Board Notes 

Reorganization Meeting January 14th, 2021

Election of Officers for 2021:

During Thursday’s Special Meeting, Randy Bouchie was re-elected Board President.  Serving as Board Vice President for 2021 will be Pam Barlett, and Steve Frette was elected Secretary. Randy Bouchie will also serve as President of the Board of Finance, and Steve Frette will also serve as Secretary of the Board of Finance.

New Members:

Washington Community Schools welcomes Tim Hedrick and Kyle Cornelius to be sworn in as the newest members of the board.  

Tim Hedrick graduated from Washington High School in 1983 and from the Vincennes University Robotics program in 1985. He has worked in industry and manufacturing for 28 years, performing skilled maintenance in controls, automation, and robotics. For the past seven years Tim has been an Instructor at Vincennes University and currently holds the Program Chair position for the Advanced Manufacturing and Automation Technology program.

Tim also serves on several advisory boards across the state for high school career centers and universities and has been active with the Chuck Harmon Little League Board for five years.

He and his wife, Donna Clark, have been married for 35 years and have two children, three grandchildren, and are expecting another grandchild in June.


Kyle Cornelius was born and raised in Daviess County to parents Kenny and Linda Cornelius. Kyle is a proud alumnus of Washington High School. He graduated from the University of Southern Indiana in 2000 with a degree in elementary education and earned a master’s degree in education from Olivet Nazarene University in 2004.  Kyle taught 4th grade at Lena Dunn elementary for twelve years and coached various sports during those years. He started with Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance in 2013.

Kyle is married to Megan Cornelius, who teaches at Griffith Elementary, and has two wonderful kids, Campbell age 11 and Cash age 8. He is looking forward to serving our students and community. 


The Board appointed Carrie Alford as the Corporation Treasurer, Andrea Martin 

as the Assistant Treasurer, and Superintendent as the district’s representative to

the Twin Rivers Vocational Co-op, Daviess/Martin Special Education Co-op, and

Educational Service Centers Risk Fund Trust.

Financial Report:

The Superintendent informed the Board that the interest income earned for 2020

was $77,352.96.  According to the recent DLGF 1782 Notice for Budget Year 2021 the district’s rate will be $.9223, down by $.9335 in 2020.

New Business:

FFCRA Resolution:  The district will extend the timeframe of December 31, 2020 for employees to use days related to Covid 19 absences through the end of the current school year.



Michelle Baxter- JH Social Studies Teacher



Sasha Larracuente-HS ELL Instructional Assistant


Upcoming Meetings:

Next regular board meeting January 21st at 7:00 pm.

Kyle Cornelius and Tim Hedrick